…brew done, mug in motion…

…William Hazlitt famously described that, well, ritual and its richness, something to which many of us would attest. In the interest of ‘balance’, we have a view from Max Beerbohm with his Going Out for a Walk, by Max Beerbohm. Just one snippet,

It is a fact that not once in all my life have I gone out for a walk. I have been taken out for walks; but that is another matter. Even while I trotted prattling by my nurse’s side I regretted the good old days when I had, and wasn’t, a perambulator. When I grew up it seemed to me that the one advantage of living in London was that nobody ever wanted me to come out for a walk. London’s very drawbacks–its endless noise and hustle, its smoky air, the squalor ambushed everywhere in it–assured this one immunity. Whenever I was with friends in the country, I knew that at any moment, unless rain were actually falling, some man might suddenly say “Come out for a walk!” in that sharp imperative tone which he would not dream of using in any other connexion. People seem to think there is something inherently noble and virtuous in the desire to go for a walk.

And it is downhill Max keeps going, unappreciative of the vitality and  sheer joy of the walk. Then again, had Max been more discriminating in his choice of companion, or seeking his own companionship, as Hazlitt would do, the life and liveliness of the very walk would not have gone unnoticed and unappreciated. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vXMt-I-6luA

And with its memory still vivid, we soon go astrolling…

